International Music Council sets the compass for its future

Paris, 9 December 2013. - The 35th General Assembly of the International Music Council, held in Brisbane (Australia), 24-25 November 2013, adopted a series of key decisions that will pave the way to building greater capacity of the organization and its members to work towards its vision to be the world's leading professional organization dedicated to promotion of the value of music in the lives of all people.


During the next two years, the International Music Council will - in cooperation with or through its members - focus its efforts on three external strategic objectives:

  • affirming culture as the 4th pillar of sustainable development,
  • promoting and protecting creativity and creators' rights, and
  • placing early childhood music education at the forefront of the music education agenda.

Each objective will be achieved through policy-making and advocacy, collaboration and information exchange, projects and research as well as targeted membership services.

In addition, the IMC will pursue its institutional development with the aim of positioning itself as a strong and dynamic global network of organisations involved or interested in music and in the livelihood of professionals in the field of music.

Building on the strategy decided upon at its previous General Assembly in 2011, the IMC adopted a fully revised version of its Statutes and the Rules of Procedure that will help to increase the efficiency and effectiveness of the organisation's work and modus operandi.

The General Assembly elected Paul Dujardin (Belgium) as new President for a renewable 2-year term. Mr. Dujardin replaces Mr. Frans de Ruiter from The Netherlands who had served as president since October 2009.

Mr. Dujardin will be joined in the IMC Board's Directorate by Jeremy Cox (UK) as executive vice-president, Hisham Sharaf (Iraq/Jordan) and Maria del Carmen Gil (Puerto Rico) as vice-presidents; as well as EmilyAkuno (Kenya) as treasurer.

The Board is completed by Alfons Karabuda (Sweden), Hugues Gervais Ondaye (Congo), Valdemar Rodriguez (Venezuela), Ahti Vänttinen (Finland), Daphne Wassink (Netherlands) and Yu Long (China).

The General Assembly paid tribute to the outstanding work and dedication of outgoing president Frans de Ruiter (Netherlands) and elected him, along with former IMC Treasurer Lars Grunth (Denmark), with a standing ovation to join the circle of Honorary Members of IMC, chosen among the world's outstanding professionals, educators, performers and composers. As you are here you could have a look at the NJ Gambling sites and list of NJ Poker sites licensed by New Jersey council from here.

During the General Assembly, elections took also place for the IMC Youth Committee. The new Committee is composed of young representatives of seven IMC member organization, coming from the Americas, the Arab World, Asia-Oceania and Europe.

The Assembly was held in conjunction with the 5th IMC World Forum on Music, hosted by the Queensland Conservatorium Griffith University in cooperation with the Music Council of Australia, with the support of a number of partners and sponsors.

Share |

This website uses Google Analytics. Google will not associate your IP address with any other data held by Google. You may refuse the use of cookies by selecting the appropriate settings on your browser. Read More