International Rostrum of Electroacoustic Music (IREM)

International Rostrum of Electroacoustic Music (IREM)

The biennial IREM was initiated in 1984 by the International Confederation for Electroacoustic Music (ICEM) and the International Music Council, who are also responsible for its organisation. The Rostrum's purpose was to make known internationally important works of electroacoustic music by fostering the exchange of works between broadcasting organisations. Due to financial reasons, the organisation of the IREM was suspended in 2008.

Works presented at the IREM were previously selected by participating radio producers and/or national federations of the International Confederation for Electroacoustic Music. After the listening sessions, the assembly of delegates selected and recommended the most important ones among the works listened to in the 2 categories: general and "young composers". These and other works were presented in concerts and broadcast after the Rostrum by the participating and other interested radio stations. Moreover, all works presented at the IRC were made available by the European Broadcasting Union (EBU) to its wide network of members and associate members via satellite. These dissemination schemes ensured excellent international coverage for the composers.

The IREM benefitted from the financial assistance of UNESCO and of participating radio networks.

The IREM was held every two years in a different country and was usually hosted by its national broadcasting authority working in collaboration with a local organisation in the field of electroacoustic music.

IREM tapes, scores and notes are deposited at the Music Centre The Netherlands in Amsterdam.

The last (11th) edition of IREM took place place in Lisbon, December 17-20 2007, hosted by the Portuguese federation MISO MUSIC.

IREM Results over the last years

IREM 1984-2004

Year Venue Hosting organisation in collaboration with
1984 Bourges (F) International Confederation for Electroacoustic Music  
1988 Stockholm (S) SR (Swedish Radio)  
1990 Oslo (N) NRK (Norwegian Radio)  
1992 Aarhus (DK) DR (Danish Radio) Danish Institute of Electroacoustic Music
1994 Helsinki (FIN) YLE (Finnish Radio)  
1996 Amsterdam (NL) NOS/NPS (Dutch Radio) Gaudeamus Foundation
1998 Vienna (A) ÖRF (Austrian Radio) Internationales Musikzentrum /Austrian Society for Electroacoustic Music
2000 Madrid (E) Radio Nacional España (RNE) Spanish Association for Electroacoustic Music
2002 Copenhagen/Malmö Danmarks Radio/Sveriges Radio  
2004 Rome (I) RAI Federazione CEMAT


Share |

This website uses Google Analytics. Google will not associate your IP address with any other data held by Google. You may refuse the use of cookies by selecting the appropriate settings on your browser. Read More